Minutes of the Carrick on Shannon Annual Municipal District Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Aras An Chontae, Carrick-on-Shannon on Monday, 12 June 2023 at 10.00 am

Members Present:	Councillor Sean McGowan (Cathaoirleach)
	Councillor Enda Stenson
	Councillor Thomas Mulligan
	Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire
	Councillor Paddy Farrell
	Councillor Des Guckian

Officials Present:	Shay O'Connor, A/Director of Services, Economic Development, Planning and Infrastructure Justin Fannon, Senior Executive Officer, Housing Darragh O'Boyle, Senior Executive Engineer, Roads - South Leitrim Area
	Kieran Brett, Meetings Administrator Kathleen Ellis, Assistant Staff Officer

At the outset of the meeting Cathaoirleach, Councillor Sean McGowan proposed a vote of sympathy to Mr Joseph Gilhooly on the death of his mother-in-law, Lucy Glynn RIP.

CMD.67.23 Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon MD

The outgoing Cathaoirleach Councillor Sean McGowan expressed his sincere thanks to the staff of Leitrim County Council, Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District, fellow councillors and the media for their assistance and support during his term of office.

Cathaoirleach, Councillor Sean McGowan said significant developments had taken place in the municipal district in the past year and in this regard, he highlighted the following projects or initiatives:

- the acquisition of Carrick Campus by the Local Authority under URDF funding
- housing developments in Breffni Crescent, and Pairceanna na Baile,
- Turnkey housing developments in Lisnagot
- the proposed building of apartments in Drumsna
- allocation of €1 million in funding towards the Regional Sports Complex under the Community Recognition Fund.

Cathaoirleach, Councillor Sean McGowan said he had the pleasure of representing Carrick-on-Shannon as Cathaoirleach at the Purple Flag Awards Ceremony in Liverpool during the year and he said he looked forward to the Public Realm works commencing in Mohill shortly.

The Members congratulated Councillor Sean McGowan for being very fair and impartial in the role of Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District.

Mr Shay O'Connor thanked Cathaoirleach, Sean McGowan for all his help during the past year.

Councillor Sean McGowan invited nominations for the Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire proposed Councillor Enda Stenson for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Paddy Farrell.

Councillor Des Guckian said he opposed the proposal of Councillor Enda Stenson as Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024.

As there was no seconder for Councillor Des Guckian's proposal, Councillor Sean McGowan deemed Councillor Enda Stenson elected as Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024.

Councillor Des Guckian left the meeting in protest at this point.

Proposed by Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire seconded by Councillor Paddy Farrell

"That Councillor Enda Stenson be elected Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024."

On taking the role of Cathaoirleach, Enda Stenson thanked his proposer and seconder for the position, and he said he looked forward to the year ahead.

CMD.68.23 Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon MD

Councillor Enda Stenson invited nominations for the Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Sean McGowan proposed Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District. This was seconded by Cllr Paddy Farrell.

As no counter-proposal was put forward, Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire was deemed elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024.

Proposed by Councillor Sean McGowan seconded by Councillor Paddy Farrell;

"That Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire be elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2023/2024."

Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire thanked her proposer and seconder for the nomination.

CMD.69.23 <u>Consider dates & times of meetings of Carrick-on-Shannon MD until</u> <u>next Annual Meeting</u>

Proposed by Cllr Enda Stenson and seconded by Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire and unanimously resolved;

"That the meetings of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District take place at 10.00 am on the 2nd Monday of every month and in the case of a bank holiday it would be held on the following day after the bank holiday. There will be no Municipal District meeting in August except in the case of an emergency arising."

This concluded the business of the meeting at 10.10 am

SIGNED:

Councillor Enda Stenson Cathaoirleach, Carrick on Shannon Municipal District SIGNED:

Kieran Brett Meetings Administrator

Date: Monday, 10th July 2023